Skip to content

A Game of Thrones

July 13, 2012

Today I received the books series A Game of Thrones in the mail. Author George R.R. Martin really outdid himself with this. I got the books in a box set, including all five books – to of them being divided into two, so that all of the books are of aproximately equal size.Looking at the picture below, could you imagine “A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow” and “A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold” to be one big book? I think not!

I have only read five chapters so far, but I am already completely captured by it, I find it even hard to write this, I just want to get going!

I love how the chapters have titles matching the main character in each one. Every time a chapter is seen from the child Brandon’s point of view, the chapter is called “Brand”.
It makes everything so much easier.

Only downside is the fact that there are so many characters to get to know – it’s quite the journey!
Not to worry, though!

There’s an appendix at the back of each book, explaining to you all the names of all the families, even the deceased family members.

I can’t wait to get on with it. Will probably post along the way. Will not spoil though, as I know a lot of you guys are probably either reading it yourself or watching the series on TV.

– Look!
I even got a huge poster of the Westeros (the main land) and the Free Cities. Now I can’t keep from following the characters everywhere they go on it! I haven’t figured if I want to hang it on the wall yet, though. I don’t know if it’s too nerdy!

How do you find it so far? Have you read the books or are you following the TV series?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

